New to DE's Looking for Razor Suggestions+Noob Guide

Hello all,

I have just recently switched back from the painful world of electronic shavers to wet shaving. I picked up a pack of disposable Schick Quattro razors and while they shave great 3-4 times, after that my fairly coarse facial hair dulls them to the point of failure.

My shave:

Pre Shave: Shave Secret (love this stuff, just wonderful).
VDH Boar brush, bowl, and soap combo recommended by a member here.
After Shave: Aqua Velva.

I love the stuff I have so far, except for my razor's. They are too dang expensive for 3-4 shaves tops. I am new to DE razors like the title says, and am looking for a good, solid razor. I prefer something not super aggressive, and if adjustable is where I need to go, so be it. I have coarse facial hair like I said before, and prefer to shave everything off, no mustache, no goatee, nothing left. I shave about 4-5 times a week.

Budget: Alright, I am looking for a razor. ONE razor. I want something built to last, comfortable, and easy to learn with. I am not an idiot, but I have heard DE shaving has a learning curve. I figure I can pick it up quickly, but don't need significant blood loss. So I would like to keep it in the $50-70 range and have a razor I can use for years to come.

Models considered: Merker Futura- I have read several people on here like and own this model. I like it also. Looks very cool and love the adjustable factor.
Edwin Jagger DE86- Don't know a lot of stuff about this one, except for it's positive reviews. Love the fake Ebony handle. Looks nice, cheaper than the Futur.

Well, that's all I have. Looking forward to hearing from some of you guys, and if you need any more info to help with, just ask. As always, thanks in advance for advice. Have a great day!

Last edited:
In my experience, the DE razor is only important for a few things.
Weight
Angle of blades cutting edge when assembled (adjusted)
Length of handle
Aesthetics