The CPK LC getting it done (Picture heavy)

So, I am a relative novice with large knives. I recently picked up my second LC. I sold the first one, really not thinking I'd ever be a big knife user, and regretted it! There is just something so primal about a large knife, and the LC is the Cadillac!

I decided to put it to use on tree that is choking out the Maple in my yard. I don't have any comparative experience with any other large knife, or an ax even, for this kind of work. I would have ordinarily taken a hand saw and pruning shears to remove the Russian Olive. Instead, it's time to put the LC to work!

This is a user review from a guy who really doesn't do this kind of hard use stuff with knives...

20170708_065046.jpg

I had the idea that a good wrist lanyard would be a smart idea. I was right (more on that later...), and I made up this out of 550 cord. The sheath still works just fine with the lanyard in the forward hole. There is just enough give in the kydex, no problem there.

20170708_065031.jpg 20170708_064633.jpg

Last edited:
I took a few tentative swings and realized this knife bites - deep! It flicks through small, green limbs. Limbs up to the size of my thumb were cut with one stroke. Anything up to 2" was 3 - 4 well placed strokes....

20170708_084720.jpg 20170708_083041.jpg 20170708_083107.jpg 20170708_085219.jpg

The wrist lanyard proved to be exceedingly useful. My forearm was blown and fatigue was really evident. I found my grip slipping to the back end of the handle with a few swings. It's Russian Olive, which has thorns (big ones!) in the outer 3-4 feet of each branch. I was wearing gloves because of the thorns, and that probably contributed to the fatigue. I am certain the lanyard saved me from losing the knife into some dangerous/unknown trajectory on about 4 instances. It is essential if you are going to do this, in my novice opinion. I won't swing this knife without it.