Show me your Elephant Toes.

Mack

Expert Ultracrepidarian
Platinum Member
I am new to traditional knives. One of the styles that really has me hooked(although I don't have one yet) is the Sunfish/Elephant Toe. Am I nuts?

I have one only so far. It is a Fight'n Rooster. I am meaning to have it rescaled. I bought it on ebay thinking it was bargain for restoration, but it probably will cost more than a nice original. It is a noble cause, and yes you are nuts! You are a knife nut. The celluloid scale is lifting, so it needs to be replaced. The main blade is so tight, it breaks my thumb nail to open it, and the pen blade wobbles. There also is some damage to one of the brass liners, I am not sure what was going on there. I am hoping for a toe nail for Christmas, the Dan Burke one with many lazer etched Queen tang stamps on it.

img293.jpg

This rooster is fat! I put a genuine silver dollar for size reference. I want to score a Case 6250 without the elephant on the blade. I almost got one, slightly outbid. Happy Elephant Hunting, and a very Merry Christmas to you and yours!

CJ

For some reason, I just love the style. I looked at that and thought it was a quarter. Wow.
Merry Christmas to you too sir.

Last edited:
Nice Sunfish. Roughly 2 5/8 inches?

I love this pattern. Unfortunately, my sunfish collection and camera are 400 miles apart at the moment. :eek:

At one time, I had an extensive gathering of Elephant Toes, but for some reason I experienced a shift. :( The only Toes I have left.

Attachments

• My Elephant Toe 1.jpg
    My Elephant Toe 1.jpg
    41.7 KB · Views: 102
  • Elephant Toe 1.jpg
    Elephant Toe 1.jpg
    46.9 KB · Views: 104
  • My Case Elephant Toe Red Bone 1.jpg
    My Case Elephant Toe Red Bone 1.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 105
  • My Case Elephant Toe Peacock 1.jpg
    My Case Elephant Toe Peacock 1.jpg
    99.7 KB · Views: 109