Slippie vs modern - steel

akaMatt

Gold Member
I have spent some time over on the General forum, and over there all the talk is about their folders being made of the latest and greatest frames and super steels (VG10, CPMxxx, etc). I come over to this forum and everybody loves their folders in 1095, CV, 4xx...

All the knives I have are in the more traditional stainless or 1095 category, so I have no experience with the super steels. Just curious why there isn't a similar movement among the slip joint crowd. Is that just a lot of bravado on the other board, do those type of knives benefit somehow from more modern steels, or is it just that "traditional" knives continue to use the traditional steels?

Well, you pretty much only get to choose from whatever the manufacturers use. And in traditional-style slipjoints, that's typically 1095 carbon and similar, 420HC, 440A/C, and some in D2.

What I use a pocket knife for is handled pretty well by 420HC/1095 so it really doesn't matter that much to me.

Well, you pretty much only get to choose from whatever the manufacturers use. And in traditional-style slipjoints, that's typically 1095 carbon and similar, 420HC, 440A/C, and some in D2.

What I use a pocket knife for is handled pretty well by 420HC/1095 so it really doesn't matter that much to me.

Agreed, I have no issue with 420/440/1095, they cut everything I need to cut just fine. It was more of a question why those seem to be considered low grade or inferior steels with the modern crowd (not so much 1095, maybe).

I don't really know. I suppose if I had a regular need in my work or recreational use to really use a pocket knife a lot for cutting things, then I would have a better idea of what I really needed. Edge retention, toughness, hardness, ability to hold an acute edge, ease/speed of sharpening vs. time between sharpenings vs. time spent sharpening vs. cost of sharpening equipment.