You Carry a Knife Because?

Thought it would be interesting to start a thread about some of the reasons you carry a knife and when and why you started..

I started carrying a knife everyday mainly because I work in construction and can't tell you how many times I needed to cut/open/loosen a knot or whatever and didn't have my tools close by.

Another reason I carry is for self defense if ever needed, especially since I'm not allowed to carry a gun, my permit is currently in appeal and is scheduled for hearing Oct. 27th and I know what the answer is NO GUN.. (long innocent story, so no reason to get your panties in a bunch :)

So why/when/how/what got you started not only into knives but carrying a knife daily..

I'm a seasonal farmhand. Can't tell you all the times I need a knife when I'm working. I just carry one everywhere I go because I never know when I'm going to need it and I also feel naked without one.

Why? For cutting open packaging and suchlike for the most part. Knives are not as clumsy or random as fingers; an elegant tool for a more civilized age.

Also: Slicing up fruit at lunch, firewood, tent stakes, etc. while camping, bottle opener and scissors on my SAKs get used more than the blade... I usually end up having a good excuse to cut something several times a day, which pales in comparison to many people here.

Last edited:
Why? For cutting open packaging and suchlike for the most part. Knives are not as clumsy or random as fingers; an elegant tool for a more civilized age.

I seriously loled at that.

I carry one for cutting open packages, cutting snake food, fish food, prepare food, and if ever needed self defense. There's also the random tasks.

Why do I carry a knife ? (knives) Because I like too. Period.

And that's all I have to say about that - Forest Gump.

I carry a knife because I need to cut stuff and a knife does a much better job of it than my keys, pen, teeth or fingernails.