Swamp Rat INFIDU

Hi all,

This is the first time I am posting in the Swamp Rat sub forum. I am pretty new to knives and started this hobby about 3 months back. The first fixed blade I purchased is the Infidu which I purchased off the exchange. The Infidu is in brand new condition with the original factory edge which in my opinion left a lot to be desired. I then had the knife shipped to Mashed Cat for the Kydex sheath to be made. Ordered a Gatco diamond kit and did some major sharpening on it.

So I finally found a chance to put it to the first serious chopping task. I know that I would be better off with a saw but I just wanted to know that this knife is capable of doing some heavier chopping work. It took some time for the knife to chew through the entire trunk but it did eventually. Prior to that I did some chopping on bamboo and when I got home and checked the edge under magnification it looks perfect! I am so thrilled! I know what I am putting the knife through is considered mild compared to some of you guys here, but this is my first attempt with it. I now know that this knife is capable of doing much more before having to go on the sharpening table.

It received some scratches when I was trying to chop on some dead and hardened stump. Never really expected the INFI steel to get scratched so easily

Not so sure what style I should put on the lanyard yet so this adjustable loop is here till I can think of something else.

Just gotta love this sheath by Eric of Mashed Cat. His work is perfection and he is hell of a great guy to deal with!

Here is the blade, stained after I did some delimping with it. I later had a hard time cleaning up the blade when I got home.

So finally, get to try chopping a fallen trunk with it.

At last! I was surprised at how tiring it actually can get doing this. Those YouTube videos made it look so effortless.